HomeAchievementsCelebrating Faculty Success

Celebrating Faculty Success

Southern honored 11 faculty members recently during the university’s first “Celebration of Excellence” event.

The program featured presentations to those faculty members who have been selected as recipients of various university awards. Previously, the awards were presented at several functions, but for the first time, those awards were presented in a single ceremony.

President Mary A. Papazian congratulated the honorees for their hard work and devotion to their students. She noted that the awardees are generally selected by their peers. “To be recognized by your peers is sometimes the most valuable recognition you can earn,” she said.

Marianne D. Kennedy, interim provost and vice president for academic affairs, also praised the award recipients. “You are being recognized for the tripartite mission of teaching, scholarship and service.”

Faculty, staff and students greeted the award winners and all were treated to a buffet lunch.

The following faculty members earned awards:

Joan Finn Junior Faculty Research Fellowship: Robert Gregory, Exercise Science; and J. Gregory McVerry, Elementary Education

Technological Teacher of the Year Award: Robert McEachern, English

Robert Jirsa Service Award: Elizabeth Keenan, Social Work

Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award: C. Patrick Heidkamp, Geography

Board of Regents Teaching Award for SCSU: Laura Bower-Phipps, Elementary Education; and Walter Stutzman, Music

Board of Regents Research Award for SCSU: Julia Irwin, Psychology

Faculty Scholar Award: Stephen Amerman, History

J. Philip Smith Award for Outstanding Teacher: Allison Bass, English; Melissa Talhelm, English


Most Popular